IKAR Upper Stage

"Ikar" Injection Module is intended for payload transfer from injection orbit to the final orbit and satellite deployment in a specific sequence and directions with determined orientation accuracy and attitude control.

"Ikar" injection module can be used for enhancement of Soyuz-U, Soyuz-FG.

After separation from launch vehicle "Ikar" Injection Module allows to deliver payload mass from 750 to 3920 kg to the circular and elliptical final orbits at 250-1400 km altitude with inclinations of i=51.8º (Baikonur cosmodrome) and i=62.8º; i=67.1º; i=81.4º; i=90º (Plesetsk cosmodrome).

"Ikar" Injection Module particular feature is its long autonomous operation during the orbital flight. During the orbital flight final orbit parameters for the payload are formed and satellite separation in a specific sequence and in a specific direction is achieved. "Ikar" Injection Module can be deployed by the preset yaw for satellite separation in a specific direction. At the time of satellite separation "Ikar" Injection Module provides specified orientation accuracy and attitude control accuracy.

"Ikar" Injection Module provides satellites with a fixed number of control commands, pyrotechnic commands, telemetry channels and through circuits, gives an opportunity of providing complementary satellite power supply from launch to separation from the Injection Module.

High reliability of Injection Module on-board systems is achieved owing to functional redundancy and control algorithms, diagnostics and reserves management during the process of accomplishing functional tasks.

"Ikar" Injection Module integrated propulsion system is intended for multiple (up to 50 times) actuations.

The concept of maximum borrowing of structural and hardware base of instrument and accessories bay of base product, which has justified itself during the process of long-term operation is taken as a basis for "Ikar" Injection Module development. "Ikar" Injection Module represents a single module, consisting of unpressurized accessories bay and pressurized instrument bay, fixed on it, with adapter for payload mounting.

"Ikar" Injection Module integrated propulsion system represents multistart (up to 50 actuations) liquid fuel propulsion system with pressure fuel feeding.

In 1999 there were launched 6 "Soyuz-U" launch vehicles with "Ikar" Injection Module, each of them simultaneously injected 4 American "Globalstar" communication satellites into orbit.

 
 

IKAR Upper Stage

"Soyuz" launch vehicle/"Ikar" Injection Module technical characteristics at the time of "Globalstar" satellites launch from Baikonur launch site

Transfer injection orbit parameters:

inclination

52º

minimum altitude

240 km

maximum altitude

920 km

latitude of minimum altitude

50,9º northern latitude

period of revolution

96 min

Final orbit parameters (phasing orbit):

inclination

52º

medium radius

7298,4 km

eccentricity

< 0,01 km

Mass:

dry "Ikar" Injection Module

2310 kg

full-loaded "Ikar" Injection Module

3210 kg

"Ikar" Injection Module overall dimensions:

diameter

2720 mm

length

2590 mm

Injection Module lifetime

1080000 Nf

Injection Module lifetime

no less than 30 hours

Attitude control error before satellites separation:

angular error

± 1,7°

"Ikar" Injection Module angular rotation rate don’t increase

0,5º/s

Vernier and retro engine thrust of "Ikar" Injection Module integrated propulsion system

2943 N

Specific pulse of Ikar’s engine package thrust

3020 Nf/kg

         

Video

         

Images

image description

Блок выведения «Икар»

Блок выведения «Икар» предназначен для перевода полезной нагрузки с орбиты выведения на конечную орбиту и обеспечения отделения спутников в заданных последовательности и направлениях с определенной точностью ориентации и стабилизации.

Блок выведения «Икар» используется для расширения возможностей ракет-носителей «Союз-У», «Союз-ФГ».

После отделения от ракеты-носителя блок выведения «Икар» позволяет обеспечить доставку полезных грузов массой от 750 до 3920 кг на круговые и эллиптические конечные орбиты в диапазоне высот от 250 до 1400 км с наклонениями 51,8° (космодром Байконур), и 62,8°, 67,1°, 81,4°, 90° (космодром Плесецк).

Отличительной особенностью блока выведения «Икар» является его длительное автономное существование в орбитальном полете, в течение которого формируются параметры конечной орбиты для полезного груза и обеспечивается отделение спутников в заданной последовательности и в заданном направлении. Для обеспечения отделения спутников в заданном направлении блок выведения может быть развернут по рысканию на заданный угол. На момент отделения спутников блок выведения «Икар» обеспечивает заданные точности ориентации и стабилизации.

Блок выведения предоставляет спутникам определенное количество команд управления, пиротехнических команд, телеметрических каналов и транзитных цепей, имеет возможность обеспечения дополнительного электропитания спутников от момента старта до отделения от блока выведения.

За счет функциональной избыточности и алгоритмов контроля, диагностики и управления резервами в процессе выполнения функциональных задач обеспечивается высокая надежность бортовых систем блока выведения.

Комплексная двигательная установка блока выведения рассчитана на многократное (до 50 раз) включение.

В основу разработки блока выведения «Икар» положен принцип максимального заимствования конструктивной и аппаратурной базы приборно-агрегатного отсека базового изделия, хорошо зарекомендовавшего себя в процессе длительной эксплуатации. Блок выведения «Икар» представляет собой единый модуль, состоящий из негерметичного агрегатного отсека и закрепленного на нем герметичного приборного отсека с переходным устройством для крепления полезного груза. Комплексная двигательная установка блока выведения представляет собой жидкотопливную двигательную установку многократного включения (до 50 раз) с вытеснительной подачей топлива.

В 1999 году было проведено 6 успешных пусков РН «Союз-У» с блоком выведения «Икар», каждый из которых обеспечил выведение на орбиту 4-х американских спутников связи «Глобалстар» одновременно.

 
 

Блок выведения «Икар»

Технические характеристики ракеты-носителя «Союз» с блоком выведения «Икар» при запуске спутников «Глобалстар» с космодрома Байконур

Параметры промежуточной орбиты выведения:

наклонение

52º

минимальная высота

240 км

максимальная высота

920 км

широта минимальной высоты

50,9º с.ш.

Драконический период обращения

96 мин

Параметры конечной орбиты (орбита фазирования):

наклонение

52º

средний радиус

7298,4 км

эксцентриситет

< 0,01 км

Масса:

сухого блока выведения «Икар»

2310 кг

заправленного блока выведения «Икар»

3210 кг

Габариты блока выведения «Икар»:

диаметр

2720 мм

длина

2590 мм

Максимальный импульс тяги двигательной установки

1080000 Нс

Время существования блока выведения

не менее 30 часов

Погрешность ориентации перед отделением спутников:

угловая

± 1,7° по каждой из осей

угловые скорости вращения блока выведения «Икар» не превышают по каждой из осей

0,5°/с

Тяга корректирующе-тормозного двигателя комплексной двигательной установки блока выведения «Икар»

2943 Н

Удельный импульс тяги комплексной двигательной установки блока выведения «Икар»

3020 Нс/кг

         

ВИДЕО

         

ИЗОБРАЖЕНИЯ

image description