NAUKA Automated Satellite

In 1968, for carrying out scientific experiments and verifying various systems, units, and modules of prospective spacecraft under conditions of space flight, the versatile Nauka satellite was developed. The satellite was able to accommodate on board different scientific and applied hardware. The Institute of Space Research of the Academy of Sciences was appointed as the prime customer, and the Progress Plant as the manufacturer.

The satellite represented an automated canister. Спутник представлял собой автономный герметичный контейнер. The scientific hardware could be accommodates both inside and outside the canister. The structure of scientific equipment could change essentially depending on the objectives and tasks of research conducted on each particular satellite.

The scientific information was transmitted to the Earth by a telemetric channel. The satellite was 550-560 kg in weight. The weight of scientific hardware was up to 400 kg. After performance of the research program, the automated satellite separated from the basic spacecraft and burnt down in the atmosphere.

Creation of the Nauka satellite enabled to conduct complicated research and experiments, as well as to receive unique scientific information.

The galactic gamma-ray spectrum has been studied, 40 per sent of the celestial sphere has been examined, over 10 thousand of gamma-ray quantum transmission events have been registered, gamma counting rates in the high latitude and equatorial region have been received, a wade range of technical tasks concerning the use of integrated circuits under space-flight conditions have been solved. Such experiments were first set in the USSR.

Intensity and energy spectrum of gamma radiation of 300-2000 MeV energy region have been studied. These data had been used in the world science practice for more than 10 years. Thermal radiation of the Earth and many other issues have been studied. More than 44 Nauka satellites have been successfully launched during the period from 1968 to 1979.

The advent of space engineering enabled the pass from indirect methods of circumterrestrial space research to direct methods providing a new phase of science development.*


* The article was written based on the materials taken from book - Spacecraft building:research and development by TsSKB-Progress/ edited by A.N.Kirilin- Samara: Publishing House, AGNI, 2011-p.280.

         

Video

         

Images

image description

Автономный спутник «Наука»

Для проведения научных экспериментов и отработки различных систем, узлов и агрегатов перспективных космических аппаратов в условиях космического полёта в 1968 году был создан универсальный автономный спутник «Наука». На борту спутника имелась возможность устанавливать различного рода аппаратуру научного и прикладного характера. Головным заказчиком экспериментов на автономном спутнике «Наука» был назначен ИКИ АН СССР, изготовителем – завод «Прогресс».

Спутник представлял собой автономный герметичный контейнер. Научная аппаратура могла размещаться как внутри контейнера, так и снаружи. Состав научной аппаратуры мог принципиально меняться в зависимости от целей и задач исследований, проводимых на каждом конкретном спутнике.

Научная информация передавалась на Землю по телеметрическому каналу. Масса спутника составляла 550-560 кг. Масса научной аппаратуры – до 400 кг. После выполнения программы научных исследований автономный спутник отделялся от базового космического аппарата и сгорал в плотных слоях атмосферы.

Создание автономного спутника «Наука» позволило провести достаточно сложные исследования и эксперименты, получить уникальную научную информацию.

Просмотрено 40% небесной сферы, изучен спектр галактических гамма-лучей, зарегистрировано более 10 тысяч событий типа прохождения гамма-квантов, получены скорости счёта гамма-квантов в экваториальной и высокоширотных областях, решён целый комплекс технических вопросов по использованию интегральных схем в условиях космического полёта. Подобные эксперименты были поставлены впервые в СССР.

Изучены интенсивность и энергетический спектр гамма-излучений в области энергии 300-2000 МэВ. Эти данные использовались в мировой научной практике более 10 лет. Изучено тепловое излучение Земли и многое другое. Всего за период с 1968 по 1979 годы было осуществлено более 44 успешных запуска автономных спутников «Наука».

Появление космической техники сделало возможным переход от косвенных методов исследования околоземного космического пространства к прямым, что позволило науке подняться на новый виток развития.*


* Статья подготовлена по материалам книги «Космическое аппаратостроение: научно-технические исследования и разработки ГНПРКЦ «ЦСКБ-Прогресс» / Под ред. А. Н. Кирилина.- Самара: Издательский дом «АГНИ», - 2011.- 280 с.: илл.

         

ВИДЕО

         

ИЗОБРАЖЕНИЯ

image description