ZENIT Space System

ZENIT Space System

In 1961 all activities related to the development and manufacturing of observation satellites were put under the responsibilities of the enterprise. In autumn 1962 the first Zenit-2 SC reworked and manufactured at the Progress plant was injected into orbit. After successful performance of the test program, the Zenit-2 SC was put into regular operation.

The construction of Zenit-2 consisted of the spherical descent module and the instrument module. The service lifetime of the first in our country imaging spacecraft was only 4 days. That was great achievement even for those times.

On the expiry of the service lifetime, the retropack turned on, the descent module separated from the instrument module and re-entered into the Earth atmosphere. At an altitude of approximately 10 kilometers, the parachute system activated and the descent module landed. On the place of landing a search-and evacuation team opened the descent module, took out cassettes, and delivered them to a customer, where films were processed further. Received information was used for a wide range of important for our country tasks, from strategic to national economic.*

The Zenit-4 SC

The Zenit-4 SC was a version of Zenit-2 with increased lifetime in orbit and imaging efficiency, improved spacecraft stabilization accuracy, which enabled imaging without distortion, and other enhanced performance characteristics for imaging by long-focus photographic equipment. A brand new imaging hardware with focal distance up to 3 meters was developed for the Zenit-4 SC. The Zenit-4 SC went on its maiden flight on November 16, 1963. Over a year, as ordered by S.P. Korolev, all activities related to the development and manufacturing of automated low-orbit remote sensing systems were put under the responsibilities of the ОКB-1’s subsidiary №3 headed by D.I. Kozlov and the Progress plant. In course of flight tests and regular operations there were 179 successful launches of Zenit-4 in all.*

The Zenit-2M SC, the Zenit-4M SC

In 1964, design activities on modernization of already operating spacecraft of the Zenit type were commenced. The activities resulted in two new SC: Zenit-2M for remote sensing and Zenit-4M for detailed observation. Both spacecraft were put into regular operation in 1970.*

The Zenit-2n/h

In 1969, on the basis of the Zenit SC JSC SRC «Progress» produced Zenit-2n/h for national economic development. Its imaging hardware was charged with black-and-white, colored, and multispectral films. Zenit-2n/h successfully accomplished its mission and completely performed the flight test program.*

The Zenit-4MT SC

Zenit-4MT was developed on the basis of the former designing. Its wide-swath imaging hardware, accurate reference to the stellar sky and the spacecraft orbital altitude enabled to use received information for making various types of map materials.

For improving its performance Zenit-4MT was equipped by the orbit-adjustment propulsion system ensuring spacecraft maneuvering into predetermined observation areas. The Zenit-4MT was injected into orbit on December 27, 1971.

The unique information received by the Zenit-4MT made it possible for making new and correcting old large-scale topographic maps of national and foreign territories.*

* The article was written based on the materials taken from book - Spacecraft building:research and development by JSC SRC «Progress» / edited by A.N.Kirilin- Samara: Publishing House, AGNI, 2011-p.280. 

Number of

In-House Satellites Launched


9
9
1
 
         

Video

         

Images

image description

Космический комплекс «Зенит»

Космический комплекс «Зенит»

В 1961 году предприятию были переданы все работы по изготовлению космических аппаратов наблюдения с последующим их серийным выпуском. Уже осенью 1962 года на орбиту отправился первый КА «Зенит-2», доработанный и собранный в цехах завода «Прогресс». После успешного прохождения программы испытаний, «Зенит-2» был принят в штатную эксплуатацию.

Конструктивно КА «Зенит-2» состоял из спускаемого аппарата сферической формы и приборного отсека. Срок активного существования на орбите первого в нашей стране космического аппарата фотографического типа «Зенит-2» был всего 4 суток, но по тому времени это было большим достижением.

По завершении срока активного существования включалась тормозная двигательная установка, спускаемый аппарат отделялся от приборного отсека, входил в плотные слои атмосферы. На высоте примерно 10 км вводилась в действие парашютная система, и спускаемый аппарат приземлялся. На месте посадки поисково-эвакуационная команда вскрывала спускаемый аппарат, извлекала кассеты с фотоплёнкой и доставляла их потребителю, где плёнка подвергалась дальнейшей обработке. Полученная информация была применена для решения широкого спектра важных для страны задач: от стратегических до народнохозяйственных*[i].

КА «Зенит-4»

КА «Зенит-4» являлся модификацией КА «Зенит-2», превосходившей своего предшественника в части более длительного срока существования на орбите, более высокой оперативности наблюдения, повышения точности стабилизации КА, что позволило получать изображения без искажений и других тактико-технических характеристик и благоприятных условий для съёмки длиннофокусной фотографической аппаратурой. Для КА «Зенит-4» была разработана принципиально новая фотоаппаратура с фокусным расстоянием объектива, достигающим трёх метров. 16 ноября 1963 года состоялся первый успешный пуск КА «Зенит-4». Уже через год серийное производство и работы по созданию автоматических низкоорбитальных средств ДЗЗ по указанию С.П. Королёва были переданы в филиал №3 ОКБ-1, возглавляемый Д.И. Козловым, и на завод «Прогресс». Всего в рамках лётных испытаний и штатной эксплуатации было проведено 179 успешных пусков «Зенит-4».*

КА «Зенит-2М», КА «Зенит-4М»

С 1964 года начались проектные работы по модернизации уже использующихся КА типа «Зенит», итогом которых стали два новых КА: «Зенит-2М» для ведения обзорного контроля и КА «Зенит-4М» для детального наблюдения. Оба этих КА были приняты в штатную эксплуатацию в 1970 году.*

КА «Зенит-2н/х»

В 1969 году на базе КА «Зенит» в интересах народного хозяйства был создан КА «Зенит-2н/х». Размещённая на спутнике «Зенит-2н/х» фотографическая аппаратура была укомплектована чёрно-белой, цветной и спектрозональными фотоплёнками. КА «Зенит-2н/х» успешно справился со всеми поставленными перед ним задачами, выполнив полностью программу лётных испытаний.*

КА «Зенит-4МТ»

На базе более ранних разработок был создан принципиально новый КА «Зенит-4МТ». Широкозахватная аппаратура, точная привязка к звёздному небу и положению КА на орбите позволили применять получаемую информацию для создания различных типов картографической продукции. Для улучшения тактико-технических характеристик на него была установлена корректирующая двигательная установка, позволяющая осуществлять маневрирование КА на орбите с целью вывода его в заданные районы наблюдения. 27 декабря 1971 года КА «Зенит-4МТ» был выведен на орбиту. На основании уникальной информации, полученной в ходе работы КА «Зенит-4МТ», появилась возможность создания новых и уточнения имеющихся топографических карт крупного масштаба отечественных и зарубежных территорий.*

* Статья подготовлена по материалам книги «Космическое аппаратостроение: научно-технические исследования и разработки ОАО «РКЦ «Прогресс» / Под ред. А. Н. Кирилина.- Самара: Издательский дом «АГНИ», - 2011.- 280 с.: илл.

ЗАПУЩЕНО КА

созданных в РКЦ-Прогресс


9
9
1
 
         

ВИДЕО

         

ИЗОБРАЖЕНИЯ

image description